Moderator: longfxukxnhair

Gixxalee
<200 Posts
<200 Posts
Has Liked: 0
Been liked: 10 times

Gold lion bias too far out!

Postby Gixxalee » 07 Nov 2008, 14:16

Hi guys I just got myself a pair of gold lion KT66's for my 2266C. I fitted them warmed the amp up and checked the bias only to find they were way apart! One was 60 +mV the othr 40?! :( These were supposed to be a matchted pair from Hotrox. Any ideas on this one or should I send em back? I've put the oe valves back in for now.

Cheers,
Lee

Dave W
Gold Member
Gold Member
Has Liked: 18 times
Been liked: 176 times

Postby Dave W » 07 Nov 2008, 16:15

That is a significant difference! I am not an expert and am not sure if it could hurt/strain the amp? As far as tone it seems like a wide enough variation that if you had an actuall matched set that it would make a difference. Thats a 20 point difference you show. Personally I would be pissed off at more than a 5 point difference, if they were supposed to be matched! I buy my tubes from Eurotubes and have never had more than a 1 point difference even in a quad of tubes, so maybe I have been spoiled. My guess is that the place where you bought them from either lied about their testing or they did not actually test them but relied on the factory testing and the factory saying they were matched. If you were running 4 tubes you could mix and match them to get closer to equal for each side, but with just 2 you are going to see the difference more in the reading. I have a quad of those same tubes in my VM2246, they are not cheap. You paid good money and I personally feel you have a legitamate gripe. Maybe you could take a picture of the reading and email it to them or send it with the tubes when you send them back. They will test them. If they are honest they will see the difference and should be embarrassed and make things good. If they are not they may minimize your claim. They should cover your shipping back and for the next set to you if they care about what they do