2266c Combo to 16ohm Box?

Solutions, Advice, Mods, and Troubleshooting.

Moderator: longfxukxnhair

realbole
<100 Posts
<100 Posts
Has Liked: 0
Been liked: 0

2266c Combo to 16ohm Box?

Postby realbole » 23 Mar 2009, 09:19

Setting the Amp's output to 8 ohm, unplugging the internal speakers and plugging in an external 16 ohm box.
I'm wondering if this could harm the tubes or the Amp?

As I know from my other Tube amps, this reduces the volume slightly, but it's not dangerous to the Amp.
If you are trying this out, your amp should ALWAYS(!) be set lower then the box is:
Amp 4 ohm > Box 8 ohm
Amp 8 ohm > Box16 ohm

The reason I wanted to try this is that I only own a 16ohm box and wanted to try the amp without that 'ole "Tube Rattle" :)
But, as I have no experience in doing this with KT66's valves, I wonder if that could cause problems? Anyone?

Thanks in advance :)

realbole
<100 Posts
<100 Posts

Re: 2266c Combo to 16ohm Box?

Postby realbole » 23 Mar 2009, 12:32

Couldn't wait, so I tried it :).. Works just fine, sounds beautiful with 2x12 closed box, no Tube Rattle... Guess it'll be OK

MKB
Diamond Member
Diamond Member
Has Liked: 5 times
Been liked: 96 times

Postby MKB » 23 Mar 2009, 12:53

It'll be good to hear Steve D's view on this. Personally I do not like to use a tube amp with the wrong impedance load. I have personally seen a Super Reverb blow up by using a 16 ohm load with it (although the SR is rated at 2 ohms nominal, a much greater mismatch than you are using). If you plan on running the amp like this quite a bit in the future, there is a very simple mod where you can connect the existing 16 ohm tap on your output transformer (it's in there) to the ohms switch in place of an impedance setting you may not be using (like the 4 ohm) by just moving a connector. I'd suggest you eventually do that.

realbole
<100 Posts
<100 Posts

Postby realbole » 23 Mar 2009, 13:54