Wow...finally made it! Marshall amp question from a newbie.

The Limited Edition Jimi Hendrix Recreation

Moderator: longfxukxnhair

royb3988
<25
<25
Has Liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Wow...finally made it! Marshall amp question from a newbie.

Postby royb3988 » 29 Nov 2010, 22:07

Greetings one and all...this is my first attempt at a Marshall venue...been a F#nder guy for more than 50 years...still love and play 'em but I think I am finally ready for a Marshall!.
I realize a great deal of what I "hear" from a player, guitar and amp is a combination of all three..(amp itself is about tubes, circuits,speakers etc), but, there is a type of sound that I have heard over the years that has eluded me with my former amps of choice...pedals or not. It is the guitar sound of......"Sunshine of your love" by Cream. Yes it was done in a studio and yes it was taylored for a recording but I have heard that type of thick, almost syrupy sustain from time to time over the last 45 years...Cliffs of Dover is in the neighborhood. I also have been made aware that EC used other types of amps, speakers and guitars from time to time but was that a Marshall on that particular tune and if so...which one?
I am leaning...drastically...towards a VM but would like to find out about that sound on that Cream song.
:dance Many thanks in advance and I must say this is quite a forum of which to be granted membership. I have learned more today about Marshall amps than I have known since Marshall started building amps!
royb3988 :soccer

Vinny
< 300 Posts
< 300 Posts

Re: Wow...finally made it! Marshall amp question from a new

Postby Vinny » 30 Nov 2010, 01:58

VM or JTM-45.... IMO
Welcome to the Forum!
:chug

kissfanps
Consigliere
Consigliere
Has Liked: 2 times
Been liked: 25 times

Postby kissfanps » 30 Nov 2010, 04:17

If you can deal with the sheer volume of cranked a 45 or 45/100 (and got the dough) then totally get one. Otherwise the VM will definitely get you there.