JCM Range, 800s, 900s, 2000/DSL, 2000/TSL

Moderator: longfxukxnhair

Dave W
Gold Member
Gold Member
Has Liked: 18 times
Been liked: 176 times

Postby Dave W » 03 Nov 2008, 07:31

Good to hear you have sound from an actual amp! I am not an expert, but I do not understand why the impedence switch would be set to 8 ohms. If your cab is 16 ohms then I believe your amp impedence switch should be set to 16 ohms also even if you just have 2 power tubes running. Unless I am ignorant to this method which is always possible, dropping to 2 power tubes does not mean you cut the impedence in half. You will be affecting the electronics in a way that only an amp expert can explain, but even if if 2 tubes affects the resistance and draw and whatever other factors I still think it should be run with the matching inpedence for the amp and cab till you hear a response otherwise from an expert in these matters. I have read about people doing this to attempt to decrease volume a little and do not remember about decreasing the ohms matching etc. Now I could be totally wrong on this and if so I am sorry for that. Its possible there is an old thread on this forum, I know about a month ago there was a long thread about power tube substitutions for the VM and seval posts mention the issue of using different tubes and if you could go from 4 to 2 on the VM 2246. I believe the post title was in regard to putting EL34's in the VM and the discussion went on from there. I have mismatched impedence before by accident an no problems but the risk is always there to kill the amp. You might want to wait till you here from others before using alot. Also, I do not know the exact condition of the sockets and board, do you think itspossible that the sockets are fried but possibly the board may be alright? Maybe you could replace the sockets and give it a try? Use your old tubes if you do this, at least the power tubes. You might fry the amp or it may work depending on the circuit board. You can buy socket