JMD102 Combo - extension cab...yes or no?

JMD1 Head and Combo

Moderator: longfxukxnhair

MF2680
<25
<25
Has Liked: 7 times
Been liked: 2 times

JMD102 Combo - extension cab...yes or no?

Postby MF2680 » 28 Sep 2013, 10:19

Hi. Newbie here - though I've been plucking information for a few months (thanks guys :clap ). I've had a JMD102 100w combo for a couple of years (been taking really good care of it because of the construction issues :pray , and it seems to be paying off! :beerme ).
I've just joined a new band :yea , and feel the need for a bit more 'spread'. Since I used to have a JCM800 2x12 combo, I thought it would be straighforward. However, after checking the manual and poking around a bit on the forum, I'm confused. There was a post on 28 July 2012 which eventually concluded that it wasn't possible to add another 2 x 12 cab to the JMD102 while keeping the internal speakers connected. Is this correct?

kossofffan
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Has Liked: 1089 times
Been liked: 724 times

Re: JMD102 Combo - extension cab...yes or no?

Postby kossofffan » 28 Sep 2013, 10:50

Welcome to the forum,

Yes you're correct in that you must not run an extension cab along with the internal speakers.

P A U L
Knighted
Knighted
Has Liked: 989 times
Been liked: 753 times

Postby P A U L » 28 Sep 2013, 11:26

From what I see, you should be able to, but it's not as straightforward as you think.

I'm guessing that the internal speakers are 16 ohms each. They have them wired in parallel, so that comes to 8 ohms (which is the limit). You will need to create (or purchase) a series splitter box, & run another 2x12 parallel cab. This will make the combo internals & the extension, like a 4x12 series/parallel & the 4 speakers will run at 16 ohm (you will need to use the 16 ohm out, not either of the 8 ohm.

I just made a parallel box, to do the exact opposite: